Have I ever told you about the time at KFC?

About 13-14 years ago, I was recently divorced and wanted  a bigger different place as I had just been promoted at work and was financially comfortable. Who knew fast forward to today I would be in such an uncomfortable place . Oh well that is not what this story is about. So I purchased a 3 bedroom 2 bath mobile home. It was nice-ish anyway. It had some cosmetic needs but it was not in bad shape and the area was nice for me being a single Mom. So I decided I wanted to rip up the carpeting all around the place and replace some areas with wood, which I actually did laminate wood look for the majority of the home.

Let’s be a little more honest here and say I did not put down the laminate flooring I hired a neighbor and then other neighbors offered to help and well anyway by the time the day came to put the floor down there were about 11-12 people at my house.

So now it is getting to be early afternoon and I needed to now feed all the people who were there. Truthfully only one person was actually working the rest were drinking beer and well I needed to feed them all. So I decided I would go down the street to Kentucky Fried Chicken, get a couple of buckets of chicken some sides and and stop for some soda’s along the way. So now I convince my sister to come to KFC with me as I don’t want to order all that food by myself. I will admit I was a lot thinner then , than I am now but even so I was not skinny and ordering a few buckets of chicken, well you know that could leaving me open for many comments and or jokes at my expense.

So now I finally go into the place and I order like 80 dollars worth of food. And the lady behind the counter says  to me is that to stay or to go. Now I don’t know what your response would be , but mine was Yes and Can I have a Diet coke with that.

I laughed and laughed the entire way home and to this day my sisters will joke with me and say Do you want a Diet coke with that, and we just crack up.

I am glad to say with all the problems of the world I can still look back and reflect on a simpler time for me and enjoy the funny memories.

2 thoughts on “Have I ever told you about the time at KFC?

  1. So there was this time I had the older kids in Ybor City. I think you were at TGH with Angel. I took them to eat at Spaghetti Warehouse. Comes Jeana’s turn to order. The waiter asked, “soup or salad?” So Jeana says, “yes.” The waiter was confused so she told him, “yes, I’ll have a super salad.”

    Miss their younger days. Oh yeah, would you like fries with that?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment